Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Growing the Green Way Class Series – Spring 2020

Classes are free but pre-registration is requested.

Programs are designed to be approximately one hour long but may run slightly over depending on questions and discussion – which are encouraged!

In the event of inclement weather, we follow Guilford County schools. If schools are closed, we do not have class.

To register for a class, please click on the class date.

Planning the 3-Season Vegetable Garden

Vegetable gardening is especially rewarding in the Piedmont because we can grow food at least 10 months of the year! The key is good planning and succession planting. January is the perfect time to start getting ready; let’s talk about the simple ways to get the most out of your personal planting space.

Monday, January 13 6:30 p.m. Kathleen Clay Edwards Library
Thursday, January 16 6:30 p.m. Glenn McNairy Library
Sunday, January 19 4 p.m. Greensboro Arboretum
Tuesday, January 21 6:30 p.m. N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center

Proper Pruning Prevents Poor Plant Performance

The art of pruning does not mean shearing shrubs into green meatballs (yikes!). Our discussion will cover the tools, techniques, and especially the timing for pruning small ornamental trees and shrubs. Doing it right (and only as needed) is the easy way to have healthier, prettier, and longer‐lived plants. *****Note: this program does not cover the specific pruning needs of fruit trees.*****

Sunday, January 26 4 p.m. Greensboro Arboretum
Monday, January 27 6:30 p.m. Kathleen Clay Edwards Library
Thursday, January 30 6:30 p.m. Glenn McNairy Library
Tuesday, February 4 6:30 p.m. N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center

Totally Tomatoes – All About Our Favorite Fruit

It’s time to start planning, that’s the key to enjoying the taste of your own home-grown tomatoes. That’s all we’ll be talking about in this session – proven tips and techniques for successfully growing America’s most popular garden vegetable (or is it a fruit?). Get ready for tomato sandwiches all summer long!

Thursday, February 6 6:30 p.m. Glenn McNairy Library
Sunday, February 9 4 p.m. Greensboro Arboretum
Monday, February 10 6:30 p.m. Kathleen Clay Edwards Library
Tuesday, February 18 6:30 Pp.m. N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center

Beautiful and Sustainable Lawns – A Greener Yard

Have a sustainable lawn by knowing and using good growing practices all year, it will save you time and money as well as reduce environmental impact. Establish a healthy stand of grass with good planning and sensible management – you’ll have a beautiful lawn and minimize issues with weeds and diseases.

Sunday, February 16 4 p.m. Greensboro Arboretum
Cancelled 6:30 p.m. Glenn McNairy Library
Monday, February 24 6:30 p.m. Kathleen Clay Edwards Library
Tuesday, February 25 6:30 p.m. N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center

Grow Your Best Vegetable Garden

Learning and following best practices leads to the best results in your vegetable garden. Topics will include how to prepare soil, the selection and timing of vegetable varieties, good upkeep, and using integrated pest management techniques to control insects and diseases organically. Growing your own food can be economical, educational, and fun!
Monday, March 2 6:30 p.m. Kathleen Clay Edwards Library
Thursday, March 5 6:30 p.m. Glenn McNairy Library
Sunday, March 8 4 p.m. Greensboro Arboretum
Tuesday, March 10 6:30 p.m. N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center

Summer-Flowering Bulbs

Did you think bulbs were only for spring bloom? Summer flowering “bulbs” (technically, some are thizomes or tubers), including some of our favorite flowers like irises and dahlias, are planted in spring and reward us with blossoms through the summer and into fall. They’re versatile in both flowerbeds and containers – many will bloom and multiply for years with minimal care, while others are used as annuals for one season’s show of color.
Monday, March 16 6:30 p.m. Kathleen Clay Edwards Library
Thursday, March 19 6:30 p.m. Glenn McNairy Library
Sunday, March 22 4 p.m. Greensboro Arboretum
Tuesday, March 24 6:30 p.m. N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center

Raised Bed Gardening

Raised beds can have many advantages for both the plants and the gardener tending them. How does that work? What kind of designs and materials can be used? Are there options that might work for me and my space? Raised beds can be much more than just a wooden box – we’ll look at lots of possibilities for making your gardening experience easier and more rewarding.
Thursday, March 26 6:30 p.m. Glenn McNairy Library
Monday, March 30 6:30 p.m. Kathleen Clay Edwards Library
Tuesday, March 31 6:30 p.m. N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center
Sunday, April 5 4 p.m. Greensboro Arboretum

Culinary Herbs

Eat healthier and tastier with homegrown culinary herbs from your garden or containers! We can grow parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme – and the pizza herbs like basil and oregano – plus many more. Herbs are also beautiful fragrant flowering plants that support pollinators. Come learn their needs and characteristics to have fun and success growing the herbs you want to use.
Monday, April 6 6:30 p.m. Kathleen Clay Edwards Library
Tuesday, April 14 6:30 p.m. N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center
Thursday, April 16 6:30 p.m. Glenn McNairy Library
Sunday, April 19 4 p.m. Greensboro Arboretum

Container Edibles: Growing Herbs and Vegetables in Pots

If you have limited space, sun, or time – a set of containers can be a wonderfully productive garden space. Grow some of your own vegetables and herbs to eat better and also save on your food budget! We’ll cover all the basics of the best ways to do it: with the right location, good timing, an easy plan, and a little tending.
Monday, April 20 6:30 p.m. Kathleen Clay Edwards Library
Sunday, April 26 4 p.m. Greensboro Arboretum
Tuesday, April 28 6:30 p.m. N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center
Thursday, April 30 6:30 p.m. Glenn McNairy Library

Class Locations :
N.C. Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Center, 3309 Burlington Road, G’boro, NC 27405
Glenn McNairy Branch Library, 4860 Lake Jeanette Road, G’boro 27455
Greensboro Arboretum (Ed Center), 401 Ashland Drive, G’boro 27403
Kathleen Clay Edwards Library, 1420 Price Park Road, G’boro, NC 27410

For more information, contact Lauren Taubert at 336-641-2400.